Against despair

Dear friends, our next project is in the neighbouring village Nocrich. In the Romany ghetto twelve families dwell under miserable conditions. There we have built a social centre. With seven families, we have already built houses; the next five we will undertake before winter comes.

Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ and Ruth Zenkert with the children in Romania

We go where the need is greatest.

For almost 900 years the Transylvanian Saxons lived in Romania. After the events of 1989, almost all of them emigrated. Slums formed behind them, Roma families dwell there in tiny huts without running water usually without access to electricity or gas.

Projects

In Transylvania - in the three villages, Hosman, Tichindeal and Nou - we are working on various projects to assist the villagers.

Weaving Shop Self-confident women In Tichindeal/Ziegental Roma women have learned to weave carpets on hand looms. The weaving shop is a local branch of the company Tisca in Heltau. Elijah has converted an old barn into a workshop. We look after the worker’s children.

Self-sufficiency for families, gardens and growing vegetables, and the chance to acquire one’s own meat and eggs by raising pigs and chickens.

We have renovated the empty church ruin with its parsonage and school building. Now a social centre with washrooms has been established. The doctor’s practice with a small pharmacy for sick persons has moved in.

Persons
We introduce:

Many, many children

– dirty, malnourished. Often they don’t attend school. At home they cannot study, there is neither table nor light.

"We go where no one goes."
Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ

Eine neue Schule der Dankbarkeit

Liebe Freunde, mit eurer Großzügigkeit gebt Ihr vielen jungen Menschen die Möglichkeit, der Verwahrlosung in ihrer Umgebung zu entfliehen. Danke – “multumesc”. Die Kinder nennen es das magische Wort, weil es Herzen öffnen und Menschen zum Aufbruch bringen kann. Im Namen der wachsenden Elijah-Gemeinschaft sage ich das Wort an Euch weiter: Vergelt’s Gott.

Pater Georg Sporschill und Ruth Zenkert mit den Kindern in Rumänien

Wir gehen dorthin,
wo die Not am größten ist.

Beinahe 900 Jahre lebten die Siebenbürger Sachsen in Rumänien. Nach der Wende 1989 sind fast alle ausgewandert. Slums haben sich gebildet, Roma-Familien hausen in kleinsten Hütten ohne Wasser, meist ohne Strom- und Gasanschluss.

aktuelle Projekte

In Siebenbürgen – in den drei Dörfern Holzmengen/Hosman, Ziegental/Tichindeal und Neudorf/Nou – arbeiten wir an verschiedenen Projekten, um die Menschen zu unterstützen.

Stella Matutina

Holzmengen/Hosman

Im April konnten wir unser neues Bildungshaus eröffnen. Die Stella Matutina ist das Zentrum für die Elijah-Gemeinschaft.

Sat Curat

Neudorf/Nou

Die Wege und Bäche sind rein, buntbemalte Abfallkörbe an den Straßenecken laden die Vorüberziehenden zum Mitmachen ein.

Lehrwerkstatt

Holzmengen/Hosman

Viele Roma-Jugendliche haben keine Pflichtschule abgeschlossen und daher keine Chance, ein Handwerk zu erlernen. Mit unserer Lehrwerkstatt möchten wir ihnen eine Möglichkeit geben, sich und ihre Familien in Zukunft selbständig zu versorgen.

Menschen bei Elijah
Wir stellen vor:

Ana

Ana arbeitet in der Bäckerei in Ziegental. Dass sie nie in die Schule gehen konnte, holt sie sie jetzt nach. Stolz strahlt sie im weißen Mantel und mit ihr ihre vier Kinder, die sie selbst versorgen kann. Die Arbeitsstelle schenkt der Familie Hoffnung auf eine bessere Zukunft.

"Wir gehen dorthin, wo keiner hingeht."
P. Georg Sporschill SJ