Persons

Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ

 

Georg Sporschill’s path of life began in 1946 in Vorarlberg, Austria, where he grew up as one of nine children. After secondary school, he studied theology, pedagogy and psychology in Innsbruck and Paris. Subsequently he took employment with the Vorarlberg provincial government as adult education program coordinator. At the age of thirty, he entered the Society of Jesus and was ordained as a priest two years later.
As a young chaplain in the Lainz district of Vienna, Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ founded and chaperoned many youth groups. From 1980 onwards, he commited himself to helping young ex-convicts, drug users and homeless young people. He founded the Caritas Youth House and three further houses for homeless people. He sent the „Canisi Bus“ out with soup for the unsheltered and established the restaurant „Inigo“ in the Viennese city centre, which offers work and self-esteem to permanently unemployed persons.
In 1991, his Order sent Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ on a mission to the street children of Bucharest. Envisioned as a six-month assignment, this was to become his life’s work. Together with Ruth Zenkert, he founded CONCORDIA Social Projects and retrieved thousands of children from the streets and sewers of the Romanian capital. For them, a social centre, homes for children and young people, training workshops and trade schools came into being.
„We go to where the need is greatest“. This principle brought Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ to the Republic of Moldova in 2004. Here he dedicated himself to helping orphans and neglected children. However, old people here also suffer dire need. Thus, CONCORDIA wove a web of soup kitchens and social centres. In 2008, Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ began working with children, young people and families in Bulgaria.
In 2012, together with Ruth Zenkert, Fr. Georg Sporschill SJ founded the association ELIJAH in Transylvania/Romania. From that time on, his whole energies have been devoted to the new task of assisting the Roma living here, most especially the children.

Menschen bei Elijah

P. Georg Sporschill SJ

 

Der Lebensweg von Georg Sporschill beginnt 1946 in Vorarlberg, wo er in einer Familie mit neun Kindern aufwächst. Nach der Matura studiert er in Innsbruck und Paris Theologie, Pädagogik und Psychologie. Anschließend ist er als Referent in der Erwachsenenbildung in der Vorarlberger Landesregierung tätig. Im Alter von dreißig Jahren tritt er in den Jesuitenorden ein und empfängt zwei Jahre später die Priesterweihe.

Als junger Kaplan in Wien-Lainz gründet und begleitet P. Georg Sporschill SJ viele Jugendgruppen. Ab 1980 gilt sein Engagement strafentlassenen, drogensüchtigen und wohnungslosen Jugendlichen. Er gründet das Jugendhaus der Caritas und drei weitere Obdachlosenhäuser. Er schickt den „Canisibus“ mit Suppe zu den Obdachlosen und eröffnet das Wiener Innenstadtlokal „Inigo“, das Langzeitarbeitslosen Arbeit und Selbstbewusstsein gibt.

1991 geht P. Georg Sporschill SJ im Auftrag seines Ordens zu den Straßenkindern von Bukarest. Was als Einsatz für sechs Monate gedacht ist, wird zur Lebensaufgabe. Zusammen mit Ruth Zenkert gründet er CONCORDIA Sozialprojekte und holt tausende Kinder von den Straßen und Kanälen der rumänischen Hauptstadt. Für sie entstehen ein Sozialzentrum, Kinder- und Jugendhäuser sowie Lehrwerkstätten und Berufsschulen.

„Wir gehen dorthin, wo die Not am größten ist“. Dieses Prinzip führt P. Georg Sporschill SJ 2004 in die Republik Moldau. Hier setzt er sich für Waisenkinder und verwahrloste Jugendliche ein. Doch auch alte Menschen leiden hier große Not. Deshalb knüpft CONCORDIA ein Netz von Suppenküchen und Sozialzentren. 2008 beginnt P. Georg Sporschill SJ seine Arbeit mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Familien in Bulgarien.

2012 gründet P. Georg Sporschill SJ zusammen mit Ruth Zenkert den Verein ELIJAH in Siebenbürgen/ Rumänien. Von nun an widmet er sich mit ganzer Kraft dieser neuen Aufgabe, den hier ansässigen Roma, vor allem den Kindern zu helfen.

Aktuelle Beiträge von P. Georg Sporschill SJ
Einige Mitarbeiter von Elijah