Projects

Social Centre Habakuk

Being able to learn

About 200 people still live in Ziegental; the greater part of the village inhabitants are Roma. The Romanians who used to live here moved to the cities. Most Roma have never finished school, the young girls become mothers. More and more families dwell in the huts at the outskirts of the village: without jobs, without an income, with no prospects. In the huts there is no running water, often no electricity, no table, and the young families can’t manage to bring their children to school. Thus, the problem is perpetuated.

In the Social Centre Habakuk 40 children are served a warm, healthy soup after school every day. Then they sit at a long table and do their homework – impossible at home, with neither table nor light.

Playground Livia

Sad children learn to play here. Without aggression, mixing with others and full of energy. The “Parcul Livia” is the great attraction in Ziegental.

Escort to school

Education in independence

Many children have attended school thanks to support and supervision for their homework. The first ones have started higher education over and above the primary school certificate. For this, they need money for bus tickets or for boarding school – both of which are too much for their families. We support them, and their success infects the others too. More than 30 young people are now attending the secondary school in the nearby city.

Baby club

To become a good mother

The young mothers are hardly yet adults themselves. They don’t visit the doctor; they are ignorant of the care and good nutrition which a new-born needs. Once a week, the girls come with their babies to Lili in the social centre. There they bathe the children, apply skin creams, weigh them, and ask questions. Together, the little ones take their first steps towards a promising life.

Unsere Projekte

Sozialzentrum Habakuk

Lernen können

In Ziegental leben noch knapp 200 Einwohner, der Großteil der Dorfbevölkerung sind Roma. Die Rumänen, die hier waren, zogen in die Städte. Die meisten Roma haben keine abgeschlossene Schulausbildung, die jungen Mädchen werden Mütter. Mehr und mehr junge Familien hausen in den Hütten am Dorfrand. Ohne Arbeit, ohne Einkommen, ohne Perspektiven. Da es in den Hütten kein Wasser, oft keinen Strom, keinen Tisch gibt, schaffen die jungen Eltern es nicht, die Kinder in die Schule zu bringen. Das Problem setzt sich fort.

Im Sozialzentrum Habakuk bekommen über 40 Kinder nach der Schule eine warme Mahlzeit. Dann machen sie an einem langen Tisch ihre Hausaufgaben – das wäre ihnen zuhause ohne Tisch, ohne Licht nicht möglich.

Spielplatz Livia

Traurige Kinder lernen hier zu spielen – ohne Aggressionen, gemeinsam und voller Lebenslust. Der Spielplatz „Parcul Livia“ ist die große Attraktion in Ziegental.

Begleitung zur Schule

Ausbildung zur Selbständigkeit

Durch die Betreuung bei den Hausaufgaben haben viele Kinder die Schule besucht. Die ersten haben über den Pflichtschulabschluss hinaus eine höhere Bildung begonnen. Dazu brauchen sie Geld für Bustickets oder fürs Internat, beides überfordert die Familien. Wir unterstützen sie, der Erfolg steckt die anderen an. Über 30 Jugendliche besuchen jetzt die weiterführende Schule in der naheliegenden Stadt.

Babyclub

Eine gute Mutter werden

Die jungen Mütter sind kaum selbst erwachsen. Sie gehen nicht zum Arzt. Pflege und gute Ernährung der Neugeborenen kennen sie nicht. Einmal in der Woche kommen die Mädchen mit ihrem Baby zu Lili ins Sozialzentrum. Sie baden die Kinder, cremen sie ein, wiegen sie, stellen Fragen. Gemeinsam gehen die Kleinen erste Schritte in ein hoffnungsvolles Leben.