Projects

A house of study and of hospitality

 

Stella Matutina is the Elijah Community’s centre; it was inaugurated in April 2016.

The house has five double rooms for our charges, helpers and guests. Its heart is the common and training room, with a training kitchen and housekeeping rooms.

Courses in housekeeping, cooking, garden care and storage of vegetables and fruits are organized for our staff and our charges. Under professional guidance, the girls prepare daily lunch and dinner for the Elijah Community and the boys from the workshops. Thus they acquire practical experience in cookery, laying the tables and serving food.

Via the table culture in the hall, those accustomed to neglect can experience human dignity and respect.

Housekeeping school

Table culture and hygiene

Twenty young Roma girls attend the housekeeping school. Under professional guidance, the girls prepare 60 to 100 helpings of lunch and dinner daily for the Elijah Community and the boys from the workshops.

Art workshop

To foster beauty

In the art workshop young people manufacture clay houses and ravens, they craft colourful paper bags and print artistic cards. Precision is of the essence. The beauty is mirrored in their faces.

Sewing shop

Devotion to detail

In the sewing course girls learn basic techniques for cloth, sewing on buttons, and different types of seams. Using sewing machines was a great incentive. Bags and aprons come into being, clothing is mended and altered.

Training garden and greenhouse

From planting to harvest

A greenhouse and twelve gardens are cared for under professional guidance. The students cultivate the plants themselves and young trainees are educated. In the autumn many women and men help with the harvest: potatoes, organic vegetables and herbs for the Elijah welfare kitchens.

Unsere Projekte

Ein Haus des Lernens und der Gastfreundschaft

 

Die Stella Matutina ist das Zentrum für die Elijah-Gemeinschaft, sie wurde im April 2016 eröffnet.

Das Haus hat fünf Zweibett-Zimmer für Schützlinge, Helfer und Gäste. Das Herzstück ist der Gemeinschafts- und Ausbildungsraum, mit Lehrküche und Wirtschaftsräumen.

Für unsere Mitarbeiter und Schützlinge gibt es Schulungen für Haushalt, Kochen, Garten, Lagerung von Gemüse und Obst. Für die Elijah-Gemeinschaft und die Jungen aus den Werkstätten bereiten die Mädchen unter fachlicher Anleitung täglich das Mittag- und Abendessen. In der Praxis lernen sie Kochen, Tischdecken und Servieren.

Über Tischkultur im Saal spüren auch die Verwahrlosten menschliche Würde und Anerkennung.

Haushaltsschule

Tischkultur und Sauberkeit

In der Haushaltschule lernen 20 junge Romamädchen. Für die Elijah-Gemeinschaft und für die Jugendlichen aus den Werkstätten bereiten die Schülerinnen unter fachlicher Anleitung täglich 60 bis 100 Portionen Mittag- und Abendessen zu.

Kunstwerkstatt

Das Schöne fördern

In der Kunstwerkstatt fertigen Jugendliche Häuser und Raben aus Ton, sie machen farbige Papiertaschen und drucken kunstvolle Karten. Auf Genauigkeit kommt es an. Das Schöne spiegelt sich in den Gesichtern wider.

Nähstube

Liebe zum Detail

Im Nähseminar lernen Mädchen Grundtechniken mit Stoff, Knöpfe annähen und verschiedene Nähte. Der Umgang mit der Nähmaschine war ein großer Anreiz. Taschen und Arbeitsschürzen entstehen, Kleidung wird repariert und geändert.

Lehrgarten und Gewächshaus

Von der Saat bis zur Ernte

Ein Gewächshaus und zwölf Gärten werden unter fachlicher Anleitung bearbeitet, die Pflanzen selber gezogen und junge Mitarbeiter eingeschult. Im Herbst helfen viele Frauen und Männer bei der Ernte mit: Kartoffel, Biogemüse und Kräuter für die Sozial-Küchen von Elijah.